If you uninstall both the Exchange Mailbox Archiving Option and the File System Archiving Option, the Enterprise Vault files and the Enterprise Vault services that are included in the Archiving Options are removed. All archive-related jobs display a status of Disabled. You cannot run, edit, or save a disabled job. You can delete a disabled job.
If you reinstall one or both options, all previously archived data is available if you specify the same Backup Exec installation folder path that you used in the initial installation. You can rerun any disabled jobs if no changes were made to the Backup Exec Database. Otherwise, if you try to run the jobs again, the jobs fail.
If you want to reinstall the Archiving Option and use new databases, you must reinstall both options. However, all previously archived data becomes unavailable. Archiving selections, rules, and archiving configurations are also unavailable.
You must remove the following items before you can reinstall the Archiving Option with new databases:
The Enterprise Vault databases that are included in the Archiving Option. If SQL Express is used, these databases are located by default at \Program Files\Symantec\Backup Exec\Data. If the full version of SQL Server is used, the archive databases are in the path that the administrator defined.
If you reinstall one or both options and you use a different Backup Exec service account than you used for the initial installation, then you must use the Backup Exec Services Manager to update the service account after the reinstallation is complete.