You can delete archived files and mail messages from the archives. If you need to free some disk space, you can delete items from the archives before their retention periods expire.
The archives can contain multiple versions of the same item. To delete a specific version of the item, you must select it individually. Otherwise, Backup Exec deletes the latest version of an item. You can distinguish between versions of the same file by checking the modified time of an item.
You can delete only files and mail messages from the archives. To delete an entire archive, you must delete it from the Devices view.
Additionally, Backup Exec searches the vault store partitions daily to delete the archived items that have expired retention periods. You can specify the time at which this daily operation runs.
Editing default settings for archive jobs
Deleting items from the archives