Review the following before you begin an Enterprise Vault restore operation.
When you restore an Enterprise Vault installation, you should restore the Directory database in a separate restore job. After you successfully restore the Directory database, you can restore other Enterprise Vault components and partitions.
When you restore Enterprise Vault databases, you can select the options that either leave databases in a ready-to-use state or in a non-operational state. The non-operational state options that you select apply to all Enterprise Vault databases except the vault store database. When you restore an Enterprise Vault 8.x vault store database, the Enterprise Vault Agent places the vault store database in Enterprise Vault 8.x Backup mode. If the vault store database remains in a non-operational state after the restore job completes, the Enterprise Vault Agent cannot remove it from Backup mode.
If you select the option that leaves the databases ready to use, the following applies:
The Enterprise Vault Agent restores the vault store database in a ready-to-use, operational state. The vault store database’s operational status is maintained even when you select additional backup sets for restore in the same vault store database restore job. Additional backup sets can include Full, Differential, and Incremental backup methods.
When you choose the option that leaves the databases in a nonoperational state, the following applies:
As a best practice, Symantec recommends that you restore the vault store database in a ready-to-use state. When you restore the vault store database in a nonoperational state, Enterprise Vault cannot remove it from Backup mode after the restore operation finishes.
You can individually restore Enterprise Vault components. Before you begin the restore, the databases and other components may or may not exist on the destination Enterprise Vault server. If the databases do not exist, you can restore them using the Enterprise Vault Agent. After the restore job completes, you must configure Enterprise Vault to use the restored databases.
To configure Enterprise Vault to use the restored databases, see your Enterprise Vault documentation.
Symantec recommends that you use the Enterprise Vault service account or an account with rights to access the restore selections as the default logon account. Otherwise, you may have to enter proper credentials for each Enterprise Vault resource that you select for restore.
After you restore Enterprise Vault, a message appears that says you need to run Enterprise Vault recovery tools. The recovery tools are used to re-synchronize Enterprise Vault with the newly restored databases after you complete the restore.
For information on running the Enterprise Vault recovery tools, see your Enterprise Vault documentation.
Before you restore Enterprise Vault sites, servers or other components, you should have the following items installed on the destination computer:
Restoring the Enterprise Vault Directory database
Restoring Enterprise Vault partitions
Restoring an Enterprise Vault 7.x server to its original location
Redirecting the restore of Enterprise Vault databases to a different Microsoft SQL Server computer