You must move backup-to-disk files to the Retired Media set before you can delete them. When you delete a backup-to-disk file from the Media tab in Backup Exec, it is deleted from Backup Exec but the Windows folder and files still exist in Windows Explorer. You can recreate the deleted backup-to-disk files.
If you want to delete the file from the disk, use Windows Explorer to navigate to the file and delete it. When the file is removed from the disk using Windows Explorer, you cannot restore it in Backup Exec.
To delete a backup-to-disk file