When you run a full backup, you can select the method to back up and delete the files. This backup method lets you free disk space on your server volume by moving files and folders from the server to media. Backup Exec backs up the selected data as a copy backup, verifies the media, and then deletes the data from the volume.
The credentials in the Backup Exec logon account that you use to run the job must have the rights to delete a file. To use the method to back up and delete the files on computers on which the Remote Agent for Linux or UNIX Servers or the Remote Agent for Macintosh Systems is installed, the Backup Exec logon account must have superuser privileges.Otherwise, the data is backed up, but is not deleted.
Backup Exec performs a verify operation after the data is backed up. If the verify operation fails, the job stops and you are notified. If you get a verification failure, view the job log. Try to correct the problem, and then retry the job. After the data is backed up and verified, Backup Exec deletes the selected data. The job log contains a list of the data that is deleted.
You can enable the checkpoint restart option for a full backup job that uses the method to back up and delete the files. If a cluster failover occurs and the job is resumed, the files are not deleted from the source volume after the backup completes.